¹ Weak, can be six cards and 5 of another
² N/E: Majors S/W: Asking for stopper
Table result: 4♠=(N)
West called the director, claiming he could have bid his second suit if he had received the explanation that 3♦ asked for a stopper.
TD's ruling: Misinformation, Damage, Score changed to 5♥ doubled, 1 down, N/S +200.
N/S appealed.
North explained that in fact the explanation he had given should have been the correct one, but that since he was not able to prove this conclusively, he accepted the ruling on misinformation. North asked to consider two other points though: firstly, that he thought it unlikely that East/West would defend up to th five level, and secondly, that he thought 5♥ should go two down, or even three.
East stated that he would certainly have shown his second suit, but was barred from this by the explanation that South held both majors.
How would you rule if on the AC?
2♦(1)-3♦(2)-P-3♠
P - 4♠ - P - P
P