WellSpyder, on Apr 29 2010, 09:09 AM, said:
Free, on Apr 29 2010, 02:58 AM, said:
This story is very strange. You have 2 cards in your hand, it's hard to play them both at the same time because you keep one in your left hand and pick the other one with your right hand (or vice versa).
Suppose that you hold the cards in your left hand and pick out the Q with your right hand as suggested. But because the cards stick together a bit, you accidentally dislodge the small card from your left hand while you pick out the Q, and the small card hits the deck first.
I have a feeling that this description best fits OP on what happened.
The Director must rule on which card is "played" when one card drops from a defender's hand while he is playing a different card, the dropped card becomes visible (slightly) before the played card and both cards can legally be played at this time.
The way I understand Laws 45 and 58B it is completely irrelevant if one of the cards was unintentionally dropped rather than played. What matters is only if the activity qualifies to be two cards played simultaneously from the same hand as regulated in Law 58B (which then takes precedence over law 45).
If the Director found that the two cards became visible from two
separate actions (
first accidentally dropping the
♠6,
next playing the
♠Q) his ruling was correct. If instead he should have found that the two cards became visible (although at slightly different times) from the
same action his ruling was incorrect.