blackshoe, on May 1 2010, 06:25 PM, said:
I ruled that because NS failed to call the TD when the MI surfaced, they forfeited their right to redress (Law 11A*), so I declined to adjust the score. I issued no PPs in points, though I did, as mentioned, tell East that he should not have corrected the MI when he did. I did not address the UI question because by the time I got to the table, the hands had been restored to the board, and no one suggested there had been any irregularity in the play.
I don't like denying redress for a late TD call when the basis of possible adjustment is not affected by the timing of the call.
Blackshoe has determined that W's explanation was wrong, so there was MI. If the TD had been called as soon as E revealed the problem, then it was too late for S's 2
♥ call to be changed.
I agree with declining to adjust a score when the timing of the TD call makes a difference to whether the call the NOS say they wouldn't have made with the correct info can be changed or not, but that isn't the case here.
On a separate issue, this is one sort of example on which I consider the ACBL's refusal to countanance weighted scores produces an unfortunate result. If the TD considers that S might have passed with the correct information, but is not convinced that she would have, then he can - elsewhere, at least - and routinely does - give N/S part of the benefit of defending 1NT instead of going for the dreaded -200 in 2
♥.
In the ACBL you have to let E/W get away with it, or allow S the full benefit of an assertion that some find implausible (except of course if passing is not within the scope of "likely" but is within the scope of "at all probable", when both sides get the worst of it).
Bidding:
W...N...E...S
.............1♣
P..1♥1NT!2♥
AP