• You cannot reply to this topic

Of course this seems standard

#1 User is offline   kenrexford 

• Brain Farts and Actual Farts Increasing with Age
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:www.limadbc.blogspot.com editor/contributor

Posted 2011-April-08, 20:08

There seems to be some development of unusual bidding systems recently.

After I opened 1 on one deal, wife responding 4NT Blackwood, then 5NT Kings, she bid 6, which turned out to be a relay to 6NT because 6NT would have asked for Queens.

On another, after 1-1NT-P-2; P-2-2-3; 3-?, the next person bid 5 to show a great club suit, jumping because 4 is always Gerber.

I am studying this new system of bidding, and some of it seems really good. Another, however, same up last night, and I'm still not sure that I understand the theory. But, it seems incredibly sound.

After two passes, I opened 2 with 9xxxx2 AQxx Qx x. LHO overcalled 2NT, partner passed, and my RHO bid 3:

P-P-2-2NT
P-3?

At this point, I thought this was showing hearts. But, my LHO started muttering that this made no sense. I suggested that perhaps it was a transfer to spades, and the LHO maybe should super-accept. LHO ultimately shrugged his shoulders and bid 3NT, mystified by this 3 call.

Before partner's lead, RHO chimed in that 3 is and should be rather obvious. He very sincerely shook his head, commenting that it can only mean one thing and that this should not be that difficult.

So, partner tabled the spade Ace, and this dummy hit:

xx Jxx xx AQJ9xx

Now, at this point, I was a tad perplexed. RHO swore that this was obviously the correct bid with this hand. LHO then responded, "Oh yeah -- steps." Apparently, this was a steps response to 2NT, showing maybe 7-9 HCP. Maybe 6-8. Does anyone know what the standard steps are here?