When - if ever - might it be appropriate to give a bridge score to NS & average +/- to EW.
Our scoring program allows this.
Page 1 of 1
two scores
#2
Posted 2011-October-11, 00:19
How about EW have a particular convention for which they didn't give adequate notice and disclosure prior to the event and have been barred from playing that convention but go ahead and use it anyway. When it comes up, NS have SEWoG unrelated to the use of the illegal convention and get a really bad score. This could be scored as the table result for NS and A- for EW.
Disclaimer: The above post may be a half-baked sarcastic rant intended to stimulate discussion and it does not necessarily coincide with my own views on this topic.
I ♦ bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer
I ♦ bidding the suit below the suit I'm actually showing not to be described as a "transfer" for the benefit of people unfamiliar with the concept of a transfer
#3
Posted 2011-October-11, 01:27
mrdct, on 2011-October-11, 00:19, said:
When it comes up, NS have SEWoG unrelated to the use of the illegal convention and get a really bad score. This could be scored as the table result for NS and A- for EW.
This would occur if the TD uses Law 12C1d to award an adjusted score of NS AVE+/EW AVE- and the score NS could have got before the SEWoG would score better than AVE+. Then all the damage from NS's poor score from the SEWoG would be self-inflicted, they get to keep their table score but EW score AVE-.
Robin
"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
#4
Posted 2011-October-11, 01:52
Directorial error disadvantaging one side, but the other side got a good result anyway and kept it. I've been on an appeals committee that awarded one of these.
Basically somebody removed their bidding cards from the bidding box without facing them then realised this was out of turn. Director not wanting to give UI to their partner asked LHO if they wanted to accept the bid without telling them what it was. This was ruled as an error so the NOS got ave+ (3 IMPs in this case). Meanwhile after the bid had not been accepted, opener looked at a 5332 13 count and opened 3N (his partner being silenced). Partner had another weak no trump with 4 spades, they were 4-0 and 4♠ had no play. The OS kept their 3N making.
Basically somebody removed their bidding cards from the bidding box without facing them then realised this was out of turn. Director not wanting to give UI to their partner asked LHO if they wanted to accept the bid without telling them what it was. This was ruled as an error so the NOS got ave+ (3 IMPs in this case). Meanwhile after the bid had not been accepted, opener looked at a 5332 13 count and opened 3N (his partner being silenced). Partner had another weak no trump with 4 spades, they were 4-0 and 4♠ had no play. The OS kept their 3N making.
Page 1 of 1