• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

reverse bids obsolete

#61 User is offline   GreenMan 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-January-12, 15:07

View PostTrinidad, on 2013-January-10, 06:35, said:

It seems entirely sensible to not say anything about reverses and strength requirements to absolute beginners. Let them (mis)bid the hands and get on with the play. First teach them to show their distribution, locate a fit, etc.

The next step will be to teach them that you need to decide at some point when you stop showing your suits (because otherwise you will get too high).

I believe that what is happening is that people will turn up for the first part of the course, then decide to go it alone after that and skip the next set of lessons. They are doing as they were taught, possibly not knowing that their education was incomplete.
If you put an accurate skill level in your profile, you get a bonus 5% extra finesses working. --johnu

#62 User is offline   aguahombre 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-January-12, 17:53

I have a problem with the term "deliberate". I have been ranting to all who will listen against "deliberately" creating a reverse by distorting the relative lengths of the two suits in order to show extra strength. If that is what is meant by deliberate reverses, then they can't become obsolete fast enough, IMO.

Opening 1C with 5-5 in clubs and diamonds within a natural system because we have a 17 count would be an example of what I thought was a deliberate reverse.
"Bidding Spades to show spades can work well." (Kenberg)

#63 User is offline   bberris 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2013-January-12, 19:22

View Postaguahombre, on 2013-January-12, 17:53, said: