BBO Discussion Forums: Jacoby - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Jacoby

#1 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2024-March-28, 18:39

Try writing a one word reply, editing it, then typing your message. The forum is broken, sadly.

#2 User is offline   olfil 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2024-March-29, 00:26

I'm a beginner. I’m trying to learn/understand Jacoby transfers. I gather that there are many variations of this sub-system.
I’ve been playing as follows:
Dealer opens 1NT. Partner has five spades and 10 HCP and bids 3 spades. If dealer has 3 spades he bids 4 spades. Otherwise he bids 3NT.
If playing Jacoby, should partner then instead respond to 1NT with 2H and dealer then respond with 2S? If so, can anyone please tell me how the partnership would proceed from there to achieve the same [or a better] outcome as/than the one above

#3 User is offline   olfil 

• Pip

Posted 2024-March-29, 00:28

Thank you smerriman

#4 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2024-March-29, 01:16

There are a lot of websites that go into depth on how transfers work if you Google for them, so for a comprehensive source you're probably better off looking through one and then following up here if you have any questions.

But as a basic overview.. it has been a long time since I learnt how to bid without transfers that I've forgotten most about how it works, but I believe your standard would have been:

- 2 level bids are weak hands (other than Stayman)
- 3 level bids are game forcing

At the sole cost of not being able to stop in 2, with transfers you can still do both of the above:

- weak hands transfer to a major, then pass. This has a side benefit that now the 1NT hand is declarer instead of dummy, which makes it harder for the defenders to know where all of the high cards are.