BBO Discussion Forums: Free Weekly Tournament Questions - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Free Weekly Tournament Questions

#1 User is offline   CntrlCoast 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2024-October-08, 18:10

I'm a novice player and would like to learn about how to play better in the weekly free tournament. Toward that end, I have a couple of questions:
1. Is there somewhere where I can find the "answers" to the free weekly tournament hands? I see that the top 100 people often get a 100%, first time they play, and I would like to learn from how they played the hands.
2. If there isn't a way to see how the hands were "supposed" to be played, is there a tutorial on the hierarchy of bidding a hand? For example, if you bid game in a suit and make your contract but still have your ranking go down, it seems like the program "thought" you should have bid differently, either in NT or possibly made extra tricks. How do I know which it was?
TIA for any enlightenment

#2 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2024-October-08, 18:56

1) The top 100 leaderboard and scoring 100% has nothing at all to do with bridge logic or "playing better" - even if it says it's the first time someone has seen the hands, it's not. In fact, it's not humanly possible to score 100% on all 8 boards without seeing the hands in advance.