Posted 2008-June-25, 20:51
Um...
Partner doubled 2♦, which presumably is takeout. That gives him four hearts and 5+ clubs, surely. I mean, presumably his hearts suck, so he needs compensating values in clubs to step in with a bid that forces 2♥ or 3♣.
But, this is really weird. I cannot imagine why Responder would raise hearts with four spades. So, Responder must have at most three spades. I suppose the spades could be 6-4-3-0 around the table. I cannot imagine that partner wants a diamond lead because of a void; that would give the opponents eight hearts, eleven diamonds, and at least five spades, with only two more cards, maybe 1-0 in clubs and Responder a stiff spade? Weird.
It could be simply asking for a diamond lead, but I'm not sure how that necessarily helps or what partner must have to think that the double is worthwhile.
Confused, I lead a spade. Probably the idiot lead.
Without the double, top club.
"Gibberish in, gibberish out. A trial judge, three sets of lawyers, and now three appellate judges cannot agree on what this law means. And we ask police officers, prosecutors, defense lawyers, and citizens to enforce or abide by it? The legislature continues to write unreadable statutes. Gibberish should not be enforced as law."
-P.J. Painter.