BBO Discussion Forums: I thought I had made it obvious.... - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

I thought I had made it obvious.... lead- trust opps or trust p

#1 User is offline   manudude03 

  • - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,625
  • Joined: 2007-October-02
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2008-June-25, 20:32

Scoring: XIMP


I can't remember the exact spots, but it was something like that. This is in the Irish trials for the Youth Games in China (dealer rotated to make hand south).

(1S)-P-(2D)-X
(3H)-P-(4H)-P
(4NT)-P-(5D)-P
(5H)-P-(6H)-X
All Pass

3H could be bid on a 5-4, 4NT was RKCB 0314 with 5D being 1/4.
(I just need to check if I was rightly annoyed at p or not, been bugging me for a couple of months now)

Also, what would your lead have been without the double?
Wayne Somerville
0

#2 User is offline   kenrexford 

  • Brain Farts and Actual Farts Increasing with Age
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,586
  • Joined: 2005-September-21
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Allen County, North-West-Central Ohio, USA
  • Interests:www.limadbc.blogspot.com editor/contributor

Posted 2008-June-25, 20:51

Um...

Partner doubled 2, which presumably is takeout. That gives him four hearts and 5+ clubs, surely. I mean, presumably his hearts suck, so he needs compensating values in clubs to step in with a bid that forces 2 or 3.

But, this is really weird. I cannot imagine why Responder would raise hearts with four spades. So, Responder must have at most three spades. I suppose the spades could be 6-4-3-0 around the table. I cannot imagine that partner wants a diamond lead because of a void; that would give the opponents eight hearts, eleven diamonds, and at least five spades, with only two more cards, maybe 1-0 in clubs and Responder a stiff spade? Weird.

It could be simply asking for a diamond lead, but I'm not sure how that necessarily helps or what partner must have to think that the double is worthwhile.

Confused, I lead a spade. Probably the idiot lead.

Without the double, top club.
"Gibberish in, gibberish out. A trial judge, three sets of lawyers, and now three appellate judges cannot agree on what this law means. And we ask police officers, prosecutors, defense lawyers, and citizens to enforce or abide by it? The legislature continues to write unreadable statutes. Gibberish should not be enforced as law."

-P.J. Painter.
0

#3 User is offline   Codo 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 6,373
  • Joined: 2003-March-15
  • Location:Hamburg, Germany
  • Interests:games and sports, esp. bridge,chess and (beach-)volleyball

Posted 2008-June-26, 01:29

spade club too
Kind Regards

Roland


Sanity Check: Failure (Fluffy)
More system is not the answer...
0

#4 User is offline   Hanoi5 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,083
  • Joined: 2006-August-31
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Interests:Bridge, Video Games, Languages, Travelling.

Posted 2008-June-26, 15:04

I'd lead a club. I expect partner to have the ace and some sort of trick in hearts.

View Postwyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.


View Postrbforster, on 2012-May-20, 21:04, said:

Besides playing for fun, most people also like to play bridge to win


My YouTube Channel
0

#5 User is offline   marcD 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 187
  • Joined: 2006-August-07

Posted 2008-June-26, 15:48

did i miss something or 5H was a sign off . guess responder has a club void he did not show on 4NT . So I hope partner has a trump trick + King D which could go away on the spades : DT
0

#6 User is offline   manudude03 

  • - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,625
  • Joined: 2007-October-02
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2008-June-29, 18:16

Scoring: XIMP


I think that was the full hand (don't have HRs with me). There was a fair bit of debate over whether my hand (south) was worth doubling on either time. I guess it was either pass both times or double both times.

As it is, 6S can't be touched, so double wasn't exactly without its dangers.

I think the raise of 5H to 6H was based purely on the fact that responder had only shown 9 pts up to that point (not that I agree with it)
Wayne Somerville
0

#7 User is offline   effervesce 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 885
  • Joined: 2007-March-28

Posted 2008-July-02, 22:38

manudude03, on Jun 29 2008, 07:16 PM, said:

Scoring: XIMP


I think that was the full hand (don't have HRs with me). There was a fair bit of debate over whether my hand (south) was worth doubling on either time. I guess it was either pass both times or double both times.

As it is, 6S can't be touched, so double wasn't exactly without its dangers.

I think the raise of 5H to 6H was based purely on the fact that responder had only shown 9 pts up to that point (not that I agree with it)

Whoa, you doubled 2 with that hand? I'd have been confused if I was your partner too - I wouldn't have expected a spade void either.
Ming

--Always remember you're unique. Just like everyone else.
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users