bluejak, on Dec 2 2009, 10:00 AM, said:
gordontd, on Dec 2 2009, 11:35 AM, said:
I agree with GordonTD that South's 5-7 sec pause would normally deny a hand that would have passed 2N. Axman points out that he'd already had 10 secs to make up his mind. Hence the hesitation suggests that North keep the bidding open. The North-South claim that the sequence 2N (3♠) (_P) (_P) is forcing by agreement is credible but only if corroborated by system notes. Like GordonTD I wonder why North chose to reopen with 3N rather than _X but that doesn't really affect the ruling.
On the facts presented, I feel that the committee should have upheld the director's decision and seriously considered whether the appeal had any merit.