dburn, on 2010-December-24, 23:11, said:
I have never been quite sure of the rights and obligations of a defender in this kind of position.
Suppose for example that I (East) know the layout but my partner does not (comments from my partners such as "fat chance of that" will be ignored).
South leads from dummy when he should have led from his hand.
I perceive that this is a mistake, because South could have made the contract by leading from his hand but not by leading from dummy.
Is West allowed per Law 16 to draw any inference from the fact that I actively accept the lead from dummy (as by saying "you're actually in hand, but I'm going to play second to this trick"), rather than from my simply playing second to the trick? If I do simply play second to the trick, is West allowed per Law 16 to draw the inference that I don't care, else I would have actively accepted the lead from dummy?
In the ACBL, we are taught that although most people use "You're in your hand" as "you've led from the wrong hand, *and* I don't accept it", what it *means* is "you've violated Law 44G, and I'm drawing attention to that." - so partner (or the noticer) can accept. Law 53A says "either defender...accepts it by making a statement to that effect, or if a play is made by the hand next in rotation.", so either way goes. It's certainly UI that he *chose to mention it* rather than either accepting by playing or just playing "in turn", and I think this would be ruled the same way as an agreement that accepting an insufficient bid by just bidding over it is different from calling the TD, then accepting it. In the ACBL (again), those agreements are not allowed, so here, no. It's more liberal in England, but I don't know the regulation offhand.
Quote
Once, I had a queen in front of dummy's king-jack. Declarer led towards the king-jack, and I played low slowly to give my partner time to object to declarer's lead from the wrong hand. He didn't object, so declarer went up with the king and screamed blue murder when partner won the ace. Did I do wrong?
I might have mentioned lead from the wrong hand, and called the TD, who would tell me that either I or my partner could accept, (rest of spiel omitted), then waiting to see if partner wanted to accept. On the other hand, I think "it wasn't my turn to play" is about as "demonstrable bridge reason" for not playing as there is... But, "this is no *****"? Declarer really led out of turn, and then complained that you hitched without the Ace? That's a new variation on the Sominex coup to me.
[Edit - wow, I triggered an autoprofanity filter? And I used the supposedly proper U.S. Army version, as opposed to the one I always heard, "no ****, there I was" (I assume British/Canadian military?)]
Long live the Republic-k. -- Major General J. Golding Frederick (tSCoSI)