Fluffy, on 2013-August-26, 06:54, said:
West might counter saying that south's failure to try for grand should mean that he hasn't got ♣Q.
Even if West is allowed to play ♣K when he knows ♣Q is in partner's hands, South could also argue that he was damaged by East leading ♣Q out of turn, and that with a normal lead from West he can make 6♠.
The first point is a good one, and one that has caused me to reconsider what the correct ruling is here. However, I don't think the second point is valid. Under which Law would you adjust for the LOOT gaining? It seems that you can adjust for knowledge of the MPC damaging the NOS, but you have already convinced me that the king of clubs is the correct play, so if West had led the queen of hearts normally, declarer would still reach the same ending, where exactly the same arguments would apply. Knowledge of the queen of clubs will be unauthorised regardless which option declarer chooses, under 16D2. We therefore poll several strong players and find out how many of them miss the crocodile to establish whether it is an LA to do so. The first three I tried all found it immediately.
I prefer to give the lawmakers credit for stating things for a reason - barmar